Questions from a novice

Hello all,

I am fairly new to programming. I have been studying at Launch School for about a year now and just finished their back-end program where I learned the fundamentals of Ruby and SQL via PostgreSQL. I have also learned the basics of using the command line. That is literally all of my experience.

With that said, I am wondering exactly what else I would need to know to get started using RubyMotion. Right now I am only wanting to use it for fun / as a hobby. I have already tried to install it and ran into problems on the “Getting Started” section that I was not able to figure out on my own. This lead me to believe I probably have some gaps in my knowledge that will prevent me from working with RubyMotion if I can’t even get it started while following a walkthrough…

Could you please advise me on what else I should perhaps look into learning and maybe a good resource to learn this material?

Thank you very much in advance!

The best way to get started with a new platform is to build a video game :grimacing:

1. Tell me what errors you’re getting and I’ll help you work through them.
  2. Join the Slack channel and say hello: http://motioneers.herokuapp.com
  3. Clone this “game development getting started” repository and play around: https://github.com/amirrajan/RubyMotionSpriteKit

Hey, I have a course that is launching next week (in conjunction with my talk about RubyMotion at We Are Developers Congress). It’s called “RubyMotion Jumpstart”, and if you sign up at https://wndx.school, you will get an email when it opens up!

Thank you @amirrajan, I will get on the Slack channel.

Also thank you @wndxlori, I will definitely check out your course!

I tried to find and sign up for the course but I was unable to do so. I created an account, but when I tried to find this course, no results were found.