Failed to compile

Hey guys I am new to ruby motion and wanna build my first app OSX and got type of errors
could you help how can I fix this
`
Build ./build/MacOSX-10.15-Development

Compile ./app/app_delegate.rb

Compile ./app/menu.rb

objc[63743]: +[NSPlaceholderMutableString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called.

objc[63743]: +[NSPlaceholderMutableString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called. We cannot safely call it or ignore it in the fork() child process. Crashing instead. Set a breakpoint on objc_initializeAfterForkError to debug.

objc[63744]: +[NSPlaceholderMutableString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called.

objc[63744]: +[NSPlaceholderMutableString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called. We cannot safely call it or ignore it in the fork() child process. Crashing instead. Set a breakpoint on objc_initializeAfterForkError to debug.

ERROR! File ‘./app/menu.rb’ failed to compile`

during this errors it suggested and I set the env RM_BYPASS_DOCTOR=1

could you help me?

Catalina gets a bit picky - have you also added

export OBJC_DISABLE_INITIALIZE_FORK_SAFETY=YES

to your shell?

Hi!

I’ve failed to compile my first RubyMotion app, too:

+[NSPlaceholderMutableString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called.

Adding

export OBJC_DISABLE_INITIALIZE_FORK_SAFETY=YES

as indicated by @red_menace in it’s post from Jun’20 helped me, too – but why?

Any explanation or resources available to help my as a RubyMotion newbie understanding what’s going on here?

Cheers,
Michael

A common Unix technique is/was to implement concurrency by forking instead of spawning threads. The RubyMotion compiler also uses this technique (it has been around for a while). There were security updates made in macOS 10.13 High Sierra and later that changed how fork() behaves.